David Warner rolled back the years with a sumptuous 104-run knock to put Australia in control of their Cricket World Cup clash with the Netherlands.
But, as ever with the veteran opener, it was not without controversy.
Warner was somewhat fortunate not to be back in the sheds after Roelof van der Merwe appeared to pull off a stunning catch to dismiss him at extra cover on Wednesday.
The Dutch were incensed when Warner refused to walk despite initially being given out, with the on-field umpires sending the decision upstairs for the third umpire to review.
However, upon closer inspection, Van der Merwe was aided by the ground when grabbing onto the ball in India, meaning Warner survived.
David Warner hit a sumptuous century to put Australia in control of their World Cup match
But the veteran opener was somewhat fortunate to survive a ‘dropped’ catch in India
But it was an ironic moment given that the Australians argued that a similar ‘catch’ taken by Mitchell Starc during the Ashes should have been given out.
Starc used the ground to help him catch Ben Duckett during the Test series this summer, and the umpire deemed that it was not a legal catch.
The Aussies were in uproar over the incident, with cricket great Glenn McGrath scathing of the decision.
‘If that’s England taking that catch, that is out!’ he said.
‘England have the best of the conditions and now they are getting the best of the rules. That is the biggest load of rubbish that I’ve ever seen.
‘If that’s not out, every catch I’ve ever seen taken should not be out. That is a disgrace.’
Jonny Bairstow waded into the debate this week, claiming that the Australians took a number of ‘illegal’ catches during the Ashes.
He cast doubt as to whether the ball hit the ground before Steve Smith controlled it to dismiss Joe Root on day two at Lord’s.
Bairstow also questioned whether Marnus Labuschagne had caught Harry Brook cleanly in the second innings of the first Test at Edgbaston.
The incident was eerily similar to the Mitch Starc incident that enraged Australia in the Ashes
‘There’s conjecture around everything,’ he said.
‘Fingers underneath the ball when the ball’s still touching the ground. Celebrating when the ball has touched the ground. Marnus celebrated at Edgbaston at short-leg.
‘Then the one that ‘Rooty’ fell to at Lord’s, when (Smith) said his fingers were underneath the ball. However, they were splayed widely.
‘But that was given out, that’s fine – it’s part and parcel of the game and the decisions the umpires give.’